Research Center for Synchrotron Light Applications, Kyushu University


  • Overview

     Synchrotron radiation, characteristic for high intensity, excellent directionality, and continuity over wide energies, has become an essential tool for leading material science, engineering, analytical chemistry, etc., with its fine processing ability and various high-performance analyzing techniques. In Kyushu area, Japan, first synchrotron radiation source at that island was founded in 2006, named Kyushu Synchrotron Light Research Center, abbreviated as SAGA Light Source or SAGA-LS. Based on that change, Kyushu University made an action to build an original beamline at SAGA-LS entitled “Apparatus for experiments utilizing high intensity synchrotron radiation” with special government’s support and budgets from Kyushu University and the beamline was finally completed in 2008. In that apparatus, X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS) can be used as an analytical tool for nanostructures and small-angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) is also available for measuring the size and shape of nanomaterials.

     Followed by its background and history, Research Center for Synchrotron Light Applications, Kyushu University, was founded for functioning as an educational unit utilizing advanced analyzing technology (XAFS/SAXS measurement system) and as a core unit of jointing research projects utilizing SAGA-LS, making co-working relationship accelerated among Saga prefecture, Saga university, and universities throughout Kyushu area.

  • Organization

    Director Prof. Yuji Soejima  
    Vice-director Prof. Hisahiro Einaga  
    Prof. Makoto Tokunaga  
    Environmental Materials Prof. Hisahiro Einaga  
    Prof. Hiroyuki Toda  
    Prof. Tatsumi Ishihara  
    Energy Materials Prof. Tanemasa Asano  
    Prof. Syo Matsumura  
    Prof. Koichi Kakimoto  
    Prof. Shigeto Okada  
    Prof. Michitaka Ohtaki  
    Soft Biomaterials Prof. Atsushi Takahara  
    Prof. Daisuke Kohda  
    Prof. Takanori Takiue  
    Associate Prof. Yoshiaki Takahashi  
    Associate Prof. Ken Kojio  
    Associate Prof. Ikuo Taniguchi  
    Fundamental Research Prof. Akira Harata  
    Prof. Yuji Soejima  
    Prof. Makoto Tokunaga  
    Associate Prof. Haruno Murayama  
    Associate Prof. Tsuyoshi Yoshitake  
    Associate Prof. Maiko Nishibori  
    Technology Development Prof Kazuhiro Hara  
    Visiting Prof. Toshihiro Okajima  
    Associate Prof. Hirotaka Okabe  
    Associate Prof. Takeharu Sugiyama  
    Assistant Prof. Satoru Yoshioka  
    Assistant Prof. Toshio Ishioka  
    Other Staff Office Admin. Nao Kubo